Definition of French West Africa in English:

French West Africa

proper noun

  • A former federation of French territories in northwestern Africa 1895–1959. Its constituent territories were Senegal, Mauritania, French Sudan (now Mali), Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso), Niger, French Guinea (now Guinea), Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), and Dahomey (now Benin)


French West Africa

/ˈˌfrenCH ˌwest ˈafrəkə/