Definition of Cinque Ports in English:

Cinque Ports

proper noun

  • A group of medieval ports in Kent and East Sussex in SE England, which were formerly allowed trading privileges in exchange for providing the bulk of England's navy. The five original Cinque Ports were Hastings, Sandwich, Dover, Romney, and Hythe; later Rye and Winchelsea were added.


From Old French cink porz, from Latin quinque portus ‘five ports’.


Cinque Ports

/sɪŋk ˈpɔːts/